think of the future.

that molly is so insightful sometimes. this really got to me:

And then I think how silly it all is. Because, the older I get, the more I realize, people come and go. And the words you said, and the promises you made, they don't always hold. How can you know you'll be happy in six months? How can you know that after five years together, you'll still make sense? How can you become comfortable even after ten years, assuming so and so will always be there?

Basically, you can't. And I think we all beat ourselves up so much about it. I think we hold on too long and we miss too much. I think we fantasize, and we grow comfortable, and we take advantage, and we stop communicating. And we assume that things must always be good for life to be a success.

*****

i think about those words and all i can say is "yes. yes. yes." she got it exactly right. i mean, really and truly, no one ever knows what will be in 5 days, 5 months, 5 years. and thats what i just dont understand about people. im willing to give 400% of myself to someone, even though that person might not be around in 5 months, much less 5 years. and the fact that im not given the same in return, irritates the shit out of me. but theres not much i can do about it. short of cutting people out of my life. and if i do that, then ill get nothing at all in return, instead of the little bit that i do get.

so the question now is, is a little bit better than none at all? or do you have to hold out for ALL?

written @ 9:36 pm on 06.01.03
< * >

take a look around
* now
* then
* me
* the move
* rings
* wishes
* exit
* dland

contact
* contact the girl
* love notes
* leave your mark
* instant
* in the flesh



: reasons to want this.